Primary tabs

Aarhus University

A young university with high aspirations Aarhus University was established in 1928. Today Aarhus University is Denmark`s second largest university with approximately 39,000 students and 6,000 faculty staff (2013). Aarhus University belongs to the international elite. In most prestigious ranking lists of the world´s best universities, Aarhus University is placed in the top 100. The main academic areas at the university are: Arts, Science and Technology, Health Sciences and the School of Business and Social Sciences. Aarhus University combines several institutional forms, including traditional university faculties and “university schools”, with their focus on professional and vocational education, for the mutual benefit of the two traditions. Increasingly, the university also emphasises public sector consultancy services and collaboration with the business world which touch all sectors of society. The main campus is located in Aarhus and, over the years, close and productive collaboration has been developed between the city and its educational institutions. A collaboration that is supported by the entire region. The Municipality of Aarhus ranks as one of Europe`s best cities in which to study, and emphasises the importance of its educational institutions for the city, especially the university. The city has created an inspiring environment that makes it attractive to both Danish and foreign students. Aarhus University has 91 Bachelor degree programmes and 112 Master´s degree programmes (2012) – please find more information here: or You can also do a ph.d. degree at Aarhus University. Read more about the possibilities here: Researchers at Aarhus University won the Nobel Prizes in Chemistry 1997 and Economics in 2010 Professor Jens Christian Skou, DrMedSc, from the Faculty of Health Sciences, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1997 for being the first person ever to describe an ion pump. An ion pump is an enzyme that transport ions across a cell membrane. In 1957, Skou described the sodium potassium pump. This pump is an absolutely fundamental part of every living cell because it regulates the concentration of salts inside and outside the cell by pumping sodium ions out of the cell. Since Skous discovery of the sodium potassium pump, a considerable number of enzymes with similar properties have been discovered. In 2010 Dale T. Mortensen, a Niels-Bohr professor, won the Nobel Prize in economics. He won the prize for his work in labour market economics, which has been done in collaboration with the economics department at Aarhus University during the past decades. The awarding of the prize to Dale T. Mortensen was another great achivement for the research at Aarhus University. View a soundslide with pictures of the prize winning architecture at Aarhus University:
Main Campus
Nordre Ringgade 1
8000  Aarhus C

Related Universities

Pursue your education with Platt College Oklahoma. We offer hands-on training programs in the culinary arts, allied health, and nursing fields.

*Programs vary by location.

Selected programs:

  • A.O.S. - Practical Nursing (LPN)
  • A.S. - Medical Laboratory Technician
  • A.S. - Culinary Arts


Your creativity is a big part of who you are and where you're going. To take it, and your future, as far as you want, you need an education that's focused on developing your talents and putting you on the path toward the creative career that stirs your imagination.

Selected programs:

  • Baking & Pastry (AS)
  • Graphic Design (AS)
  • Culinary Arts (AS)
  • More...
Further your education with Medaille College. We offer a number of associate, bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degree programs in a variety of fields at our campuses in Buffalo, Williamsville, and Rochester, New York.

Selected programs:

  • Associate of Science in Veterinary Technology
  • Associate of Science in Business
  • Bachelor of Business Administration - Day Program
  • More...
Oregon Culinary Institute can provide you with the hands-on training you need to launch a rewarding career in the culinary arts in as little as 40 weeks.

Selected programs:

  • Associate in Restaurant Management
  • Associate of Applied Science in Culinary Management
  • Associate in Baking & Pastry Management

Tour Dates

Saturday, 3rd May 2014
01:30 pm - 06:00 pm
Sunday, 4th May 2014
01:30 pm - 06:00 pm
Thursday, 8th May 2014
03:00 pm - 08:00 pm
Saturday, 10th May 2014
01:00 pm - 06:00 pm
Monday, 12th May 2014
03:00 pm - 08:00 pm
Tuesday, 26th Aug 2014
15:30 - 20:00
Sign up to hear more from QS
The e-mail address is not made public and will only be used if you wish to receive certain news or notifications.
4 + 6 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
By joining you agree to User Agreement , Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy