Universiti Tun Abdul Razak (UNITAR) Undergraduate

UNIVERSITY PROFILE Universiti Tun Abdul Razak (UniTAR) was established in December, 1998 by its founder YBhg Dato Hassan Harun, the former Chairman of KUB Berhad. Its establishment was of great significance, as it is part of a larger national agenda to liberate and democratize education in the country. It became the first local university to offer “e-learning” mode of study and one of the first universities in Malaysia to receive MSC status company recognition from the government of Malaysia effective 10th September 2001 UniTAR has also been awarded the ISO9001:2000, a set of requirements placed on an organisation's business system that focuses on the quality of the product or service quality through a system of process control. As the University carries the name of Tun Abdul Razak, the second Prime Minister of Malaysia, it therefore aspires to actively contribute towards the nation's human capital development. The University was later taken over by Tun Abdul Razak Education Foundation (Yayasan PINTAR) from KUB Malaysia Berhad on 1st March 2007. Yayasan PINTAR is a foundation chaired by the Rt. Hon. Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak. Tun Abdul Razak Education Foundation was established as a non-profit organisation on 18th October 2006 under the Companies Act, 1985 (Limited by Guarantee). The primary focus of the Foundation is to re-engineer or restructure Universiti Tun Abdul Razak as a ‘boutique university’. Currently, the University is transforming itself by providing more academic programmes in the conventional mode of learning as opposed to the hybrid mode of learning. The Board of Trustees of Tun Abdul Razak Education Foundation comprises the Rt. Hon. Dato' Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak as the Chairman and YB Dato' Sri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein, YB Dato’ Seri Mohamed Khaled bin Nordin, YAB Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam, YB Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, YB Dato' Mustapa Mohamed and YB Dato' Seri Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi as the Board members. The other roles of the Foundation include: -Provide educational funds through scholarships and or loans to allow more students to pursue tertiary education, -Monitor, assist and support the growth and development of Universiti Tun Abdul Razak in providing international quality education and training, -Provide financial assistance and support for the infrastructure development of Universiti Tun Abdul Razak. The University is currently undergoing an important transformation phase to leapfrog to higher level. There will be major paradigm shift especially in the academic offerings, its teaching and learning delivery and the quality of its academic staff. Its vision is to become the leading institution in providing quality education and human capital in niche areas or body of knowledge among emerging economies. UniTAR currently offers 30 programmes, approved by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA) and is planning to introduce 20 more new programmes in 2009. The approved programmes in the University are as follows: •Preundergraduate programmes - 12 •Undergraduate programmes - 10 •Postgraduate programmes - 8 As of 31 December 2007, there were 7,398 students enrolled in the University, including 2,886 students at pre-undergraduate programmes, 4,298 students in undergraduate programmes, and 214 postgraduate programmes. Currently, the University has two main campuses, located at Kelana Jaya (known as PINTAR Campus), and the other one is located at Kuala Lumpur City Centre (known as Tun Razak City Campus). The University also has 3 Regional Centres located at Alor Setar, Johor Bahru, and Kota Bharu. In addition, the University academic programmes are also offered in collaborations with selected colleges in 5 other states, namely Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Ipoh, Penang and Melaka. In the new strategic plan of UniTAR, the University is poised to position itself to become the "University of Choice" among the top students as well as a model for the other private universities in the country.
How are you today?
If you are not registered yet, click here to join.