University of Pune Undergraduate

The University of Pune came into existence on February 10th 1949, with Dr.M.R.Jaykar as its first Vice-Chancellor. Presently the Univeristy of Pune is a leading University in India covering three district in Maharashtra - Pune, Ahmednagar and Nashik. The main educational programs and offerings of the Univeristy of Pune are extended through a comprehensive course structure, with traditional and modern delivery mechanisms. More than 400 course programs covering different disciplines are offered at the Graduate and Post-Graduate levels. Doctoral research is conducted in a wide range of fields. The number of colleges affiliated to the University of Pune, and its student population has rapidly increased over the years. One of the distinctive features of the University is its large and growing international student community. In fact, the University of Pune is the most preferred destination for international students coming to India.

Currently the University of Pune is one of the largest Universities in the world with more than five lakh students studying in 52 Post-Graduate Departments and Research Centers, 6 Interdisciplinary Centres, 466 Graduate Colleges and 232 Recognized Institutions affiliated to the Univeristy.

The University of Pune (UoP) and its affiliated colleges function within the broad framework of the education policy laid down form time to time by Government of Maharashtra and Government of India. The Maharashtra State Government gives grants and aids to the University of Pune and its affiliated colleges mainly for payment of salaries of teaching and non-teaching staff. The Univesity Grants Commission (UGC) has recognized the University of Pune and most of its affiliated colleges. All development grants are sanctioned by the UGC and other funding agencies such as the Centre for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Bhaba Atomic Research Centre (BARC), and Department of Science and Technology (DST), Govenment of India.

Undergraduate Courses

Center for Information & Network Security
School of Basic Medical Science
Office of the Vice Chancellor
Center for Advanced Study in Sanskrit
Competitative Exam Center
Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Humanities & Social Science
School of Scientific Computing
Communication Studies
National Service Scheme
Computer Science
Communication & Journalism
Polictics & Public Administration
Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Science
Commerce & Research Center
Ofiice of Development and Planning
Environmental Science
Board of Sports
Electronic Science
Centre for Philosophy and History of Science
Defence & Strategic Studies
Atmospheric Space Science
Management Science
Center for Network Computing
Students Welfare
Buddisht Study Center
Institute of Bioinformatics & Biotechnology
Foreign Lanaguage
Educational Media & Research Center
Instrumentation Science
National Centre of International Security and Defence Analysis
Center for Modeling & Simulation
Center for Sensor Studies


Sign up to hear more from QS

you can select up to 3 options.

By joining TopUniversities, you agree to TopUniversities's User Agreement, Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.

The feature is only available to registered users
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
If you are already a member of TopMBA, use these fields to log in. Otherwise, just start your registration here:
Display Password (to verify)
or save yourself some time and join / login with...
If you are not registered yet, click here to join.
We will never post something
without your permission.

Becoming a member on TopMBA has many benefits.

It's totally free, and allows you to...
  1. Compare business schools
  2. Personalize Rankings
  3. Access permium ranking data
  4. Apply for exclusive scholarships
  5. Attend MBA events worldwide
  6. Connect via MBA discussion forums
  7. Download top research reports
  8. Receive expert admissions advice