You are here

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)


UNIVERSITY PUTRA MALAYSIA Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) formerly known as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia was founded in 1971 through the merger of Faculty of Agriculture, University Malaya and Agriculture College in Serdang. The first three founder faculties were Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Forestry and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science. UPM maintains its traditional role of education in focussing its tertiary level research on agriculture and its relevant areas. In early 80's, UPM has expanded its scope by including science and technology into its areas of studies. In 1994, UPM aspired to be the University of the Next Millennium and in line with its vision, the name of Universiti Pertanian Malaysia was changed to Universiti Putra Malaysia by Malaysia's Prime Minister, Dato' Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamed on April 3, 1997. This is looked upon as a strategic move in preparing UPM as a versatile, higher learning institution that is in tandem with Malaysia's dynamic technology. Celebrating its 75th anniversary, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) has established its vision to become a global player with an internationally reputable community of intellectuals who will make the nation proud for their contributions to scholarly writing and discoveries, and continue to give new meaning...

Rankings, stats & media

Go to overview page

Postgraduate Offers

View postgrad offers