You are here

University of Tartu


University of Tartu follows the Bologna process in the organisation of its teaching and Bachelor-Master (3+2) system of study modules. The length of PhD studies is 4 years. The academic year starts in the beginning of September each year. Studies at the University of Tartu take place in Estonian and English languages. Currently, there are three programmes available fully in English: Business Administration, Science and Technology and Medicine. UT includes 4 faculties and 4 colleges. Most of UT is located in Tartu, the second biggest city in Estonia; however its colleges are located in Pärnu, Viljandi and Narva. Tartu has a population of 100 000, and a fifth of its residents are students. UT alumni make up 40% of Estonian Parliament, 87% of attorneys at law, 100% of judges, and 99% of medical doctors in Estonia.

Rankings, stats & media

Go to overview page

Postgraduate Offers

View postgrad offers

English Language Proficiency Requirements

This institution accepts IELTS!
Find your nearest test centre and test dates.

Please check the specific English language requirements for your chosen course with the university.

Featured institutions
To get more in-depth information including courses, media and downloads, visit these profiles.