You are here

Yokohama National University


Yokohama National University (YNU) was established in 1949, merged from Yokohama Normal School (est. in 1876), Kanagawa Prefectural Training Institution for Teachers of Supplementary Vocational Education (est. in 1920), Yokohama Higher School of Commerce (est. in 1923) and Yokohama Higher School of Technology (est. in 1920). Currently, the university comprises four undergraduates (Education and Human Sciences, Economics, Business Administration, Engineering) and four graduate schools (Education, Social Sciences, Engineering, Environment and Information Sciences) and has developed into a university with more than 1,000 faculty members and 10,000 students. Since 2004, YNU has made a fresh start as a National University Corporation. Based on more than fifty years of history and tradition, YNU is highly internationalized, as it respects and strives to respond to the needs of society. The university is determined to provide effective knowledge to its students and administers research and education with the aim to develop into a university open to society and eager to welcome new challenges. YNU, located in the historically international city of Yokohama, has been highly dedicated to a global perspective and has concluded International Exchange Agreements with approximately 80 universities in 30 countries and regions. Approximately 900 international students from 60 countries are presently enrolled at YNU.

Rankings, stats & media

Go to overview page

Postgraduate Offers

View postgrad offers