You are here


Al Furat Al Awsat Technical University

Republic of Iraq-Al-Najaf City-Kufa opposite to Imam Ali Bridge Al-Najaf\Kufa,


Al-Furat Al-Awsat Technical University is a public university affiliated to the Iraqi Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. Its main campus located in Al-Najaf City/Kufa one of Al-Furat Al-Awsat provinces of the Republic of Iraq. The university was established in 2014 after being emerged from the Technical Education Authority, which was founded in 1969. It includes four technical colleges and seven technical institutes in different disciplines (medical, engineering, administrative, agricultural and applied arts) which are distributed over five major cities located within Al-Furat Al-Awsat province of Iraq namely “Al-Najaf – Babylon – Karbala – Diwaniyah and Al-Muthanna cities”.

The University offers the Technical Diploma, Technical Bachelor, Master and PhD degrees in various disciplines. The university has 950 academic staff members with master and doctorate qualifications and 3200 employees with a bachelor degree and technical diploma. Those are separated over the above mentioned collages and technical institutes namely; Technical College of Health and Medical/Kufa, Technical College of Al-Mussaib, Technical College of Administrative and Management/Kufa, Technical College of Engineering/Najaf, Technical Institute of Babylon, Technical Institute of Najaf, Technical Institute of Al-Mussaib, Technical Institute of Kufa, Technical Institute of Karbala, Technical Institute of AL–Qadasya, Technical Institute of Semawa.

Upcoming QS Events

Campus Locations

Test Preparation

Join QS Leap, the most advanced free test-prep platform in the world.